CustomGPT alternatives: cited, accurate answers from your own content
Yevhen Kurapov, co-founder · Updated Oct 20, 2026
CustomGPT.ai costs $99 a month for 1,000 queries and $499 for 5,000, with a source link under every answer. DocsBot also cites sources, from $49 a month. Wonderchat and Kapa.ai cite them too; Fin suits support teams. ChatPal is free for 100 replies and $50 for 1,500, adds WhatsApp and Instagram, but shows sources to you, not visitors.
We make ChatPal, one of the tools below, and list its limits on the same terms as everyone else's.
CustomGPT.ai builds an AI agent from your website and documents, answers with a link to its source, and markets itself on accuracy. The alternatives below also answer from your own content. They differ in price per question, whether visitors see citations, which sources they connect to, and where the answers appear. If accuracy is why you chose CustomGPT, read the section on how each tool shows its sources first. We make ChatPal, one of the six.
What CustomGPT.ai offers
Citations and anti-hallucination on every plan. Each answer links to the source it came from, which suits support for software, legal or technical content where a customer wants to check.
Many sources. Websites and sitemaps, uploaded files, YouTube, Google Drive, Notion, Confluence, Zendesk, Shopify, HubSpot and more, up to 5,000 documents per agent on Standard.
Three plans. Standard is $99 a month ($89 billed yearly) for 1,000 queries, 10 agents and 3 team members. Premium is $499 ($449 billed yearly) for 5,000 queries, auto-sync of your sitemap, WordPress and YouTube, PII removal and no CustomGPT branding. Enterprise adds SSO, a DPA, role-based access and a choice of models, at a price on request. SOC 2 Type 2 is listed on all three.
Limits. A query is a question an agent answers. When the month's queries run out, CustomGPT's documentation says the account may not work normally until the next cycle; 2,500 extra queries cost $375 a month.
Why people look for an alternative
- The price per question. $99 for 1,000 queries is about 10 cents a question. A small business with a few hundred questions a month pays the same as one with a thousand.
- The gap between plans. Going past Standard means extra queries at $375 a month or Premium at $499. Branding removal and automatic re-sync sit behind that same jump.
- Channels. CustomGPT's integrations page lists a website embed, LiveChat, its API and Zapier. If your customers write on WhatsApp or Instagram, you need something else.
When CustomGPT.ai is still the right choice
Stay if visible citations are part of how you earn trust, if you pull from many internal systems such as Confluence, SharePoint or Google Drive, or if your security team needs SOC 2 Type 2 and SSO from one vendor. Ten agents on one allowance also suits an agency or a company with several products.
How we chose
We looked for tools that answer from your own content and that buyers weigh against CustomGPT for accuracy or price. On October 20, 2026 we read each one's pricing page and its pages on sources and citations. We make ChatPal; we didn't test the others hands-on. The tools are grouped by who they suit, not ranked.
CustomGPT.ai and five alternatives
| Tool | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|
| CustomGPT.ai | Staying on CustomGPT.ai | Standard $99 a month, or $89 billed yearly, for 1,000 queries; Premium $499, or $449 billed yearly, for 5,000; 7-day trial with a card |
| ChatPal | Small business, with messaging apps | Free for 100 replies a month; $20 for 500, $50 for 1,500 and $120 for 4,000, billed monthly |
| DocsBot | Cited answers for less | Free for 100 AI credits a month; Personal $49 a month for 5,000 credits; Standard $149 for 15,000 and 3 bots |
| Wonderchat | Cited answers on WhatsApp and SMS | Free for 20 message credits; Basic $124 a month billed yearly for 5,000 credits; no monthly price shown |
| Kapa.ai | Technical documentation teams | 14-day free trial with 1,000 answers, no card; Growth is usage-based, a platform fee plus committed answers, priced on request |
| Fin | A support team with a helpdesk | $0.99 per outcome, plus Intercom seats from $19 a month billed yearly ($29 billed monthly); or with your own helpdesk, with a monthly minimum |
Staying on CustomGPT.ai
CustomGPT.ai
Price: Standard $99 a month, or $89 billed yearly, for 1,000 queries; Premium $499, or $449 billed yearly, for 5,000; 7-day trial with a card
Good at
- A link to the source under every answer, on every plan
- Ten agents on Standard share one allowance, with SOC 2 Type 2 listed on every plan
- Learns from websites, files, YouTube, Google Drive, Notion, Confluence, Zendesk, Shopify and more
Keep in mind
- When the monthly queries run out, the account may stop working normally until the next cycle; 2,500 extra queries are $375 a month
- Removing its branding and auto-syncing your sitemap start on Premium, $499 a month
Small business, with messaging apps
ChatPal
Price: Free for 100 replies a month; $20 for 500, $50 for 1,500 and $120 for 4,000, billed monthly
Good at
- The Playground shows which sources each answer used, and lets you fix a wrong answer and ask again
- Saved Assistant Tests re-check your key questions after you change knowledge or instructions
- Website chat, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, Telegram and Zendesk on every plan, the free one included
Keep in mind
- Visitors don't see source links under each answer; the sources show in your Playground
- Learns from files, website links and Notion pages; no built-in Google Drive, Confluence or SharePoint connection
Cited answers for less
DocsBot
Price: Free for 100 AI credits a month; Personal $49 a month for 5,000 credits; Standard $149 for 15,000 and 3 bots
Good at
- Every answer links to the source documents it used
- WhatsApp, Messenger, Telegram and Slack from Personal; sources re-read monthly, weekly from Standard
Keep in mind
- At the credit cap the bot stops answering and shows visitors an error message
- Unbranded widgets only on Business, $499 a month
Cited answers on WhatsApp and SMS
Wonderchat
Price: Free for 20 message credits; Basic $124 a month billed yearly for 5,000 credits; no monthly price shown
Good at
- Cites a source in every reply, and hands off to a human when unsure
- Website, mobile app, WhatsApp and SMS
Keep in mind
- SOC 2, HIPAA and SSO are on Enterprise, from $1,499
- The pricing page lists yearly billing only
Technical documentation teams
Kapa.ai
Price: 14-day free trial with 1,000 answers, no card; Growth is usage-based, a platform fee plus committed answers, priced on request
Good at
- Retrieval with citations across your docs and other sources, kept in sync
- Agents for your docs and website, support forms, Slack, Discord and Zendesk, plus a hosted MCP server
Keep in mind
- No published price for Growth or Enterprise
- Built for companies with product documentation: developer tools, software and hardware
A support team with a helpdesk
Fin
Price: $0.99 per outcome, plus Intercom seats from $19 a month billed yearly ($29 billed monthly); or with your own helpdesk, with a monthly minimum
Good at
- Answers from help articles, synced websites, PDFs, and Zendesk, Confluence, Notion, Salesforce or Freshdesk content
- 14-day trial with no card, including Fin
Keep in mind
- An outcome also counts when the customer doesn't ask for more help after Fin replies
- Content from public URLs updates weekly
How each tool shows where an answer came from
Citations help two people: the customer who wants to check, and you, when an answer is wrong. Here is what each tool says it shows, from the pages we read on October 20, 2026.
| Tool | Visitor sees the source | You see the source |
|---|---|---|
| CustomGPT.ai | A link under every answer | Yes |
| DocsBot | Links to the source documents | Yes |
| Wonderchat | A source cited in every reply | Yes |
| Kapa.ai | Cited answers | Yes |
| Fin | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read |
| ChatPal | No | Yes, in the Playground, with the passage highlighted |
ChatPal made a different choice. Answers stay short and conversational, without a list of sources under them. In the Playground, under each answer, you see how many sources it used and how confident it was; click it to open the sources with the passage the assistant read highlighted. Why this answer? asks Copilot to explain the answer, and if it was wrong, to suggest a fix you can apply.
Accuracy also depends on what the assistant does when the answer isn't in your content. ChatPal's assistant is told to say plainly that it doesn't have the information and to point the customer to where they can get it, rather than guess. Here is an example we wrote for this page, for a small software company set up in ChatPal:
Customer: Does the Pro plan include payroll for contractors in Canada?
Assistant: Pro includes payroll for employees in the US and the UK. I don't have details on contractor payroll in Canada, so our support team at [email protected] can confirm that for you.
The assistant answers the part it knows from the company's pages, says what it doesn't know, and names where to ask. It doesn't mention its knowledge base, and it doesn't invent a policy.
What 1,000 questions a month cost
We assumed 1,000 customer questions a month, each answered in one AI reply on a standard model. Monthly billing unless noted, prices listed on October 20, 2026.
| Tool | Plan that fits | Price a month |
|---|---|---|
| CustomGPT.ai | Standard, 1,000 queries | $99 ($89 billed yearly) |
| ChatPal | 1,500 replies | $50 |
| DocsBot | Personal, 5,000 credits at 1 credit a reply | $49 |
| Wonderchat | Basic, 5,000 credits | $124, billed yearly |
| Kapa.ai | Growth | On request |
| Fin | $0.99 per outcome, plus seats | Up to $990 plus seats |
A stronger model changes the picture for credit-based tools: at 10 credits a reply, DocsBot needs 10,000 credits, which is Standard at $149. ChatPal counts every reply as one message. Real conversations run longer than one reply, so count a week of your own chats before you compare.
CustomGPT.ai or ChatPal
Choose CustomGPT.ai if:
- visitors need to see a source link under every answer;
- you connect Confluence, SharePoint, Google Drive or a dozen other systems;
- you need SOC 2 Type 2 and SSO from the vendor.
Choose ChatPal if:
- you're a small business answering customers, not a docs team, and want to start free;
- your customers write on WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger or Telegram as well as your website;
- you want to see and fix why an answer went wrong, and re-check saved questions after each change with Assistant Tests.
Moving from CustomGPT.ai
- Gather your sources. List the websites, sitemaps and files your agent uses. In ChatPal, add your site on Knowledge under Website & links and upload files on the Files tab. Connect Notion from Integrations if your content lives there.
- Write the rules. Put what the assistant must and must not say in Configuration, in plain language. Our guide to instructions that don't hallucinate has examples.
- Test the hard questions. Ask the ten questions where CustomGPT's citations mattered most, in the Playground, and save them as tests. See how to test an AI chatbot.
- Swap the widget, then connect the messaging apps your customers use.
If you're also weighing Chatbase, see Chatbase alternatives. For a larger support team, Intercom Fin alternatives compares helpdesk-based AI agents.